# **Faculty Senate Constitution**

Section 6. Committee on Academic Affairs and Standards

Section 7. Parking Planning

Section 8. Student Evaluation of Instruction

Section 9. Campus Planning

Section 10. General Education

Section 11. Distance Learning Leadership Council

Section 12. Strategic Program Review

## ARTICLE VI. MEETINGS

Section 1. Regular Meetings Section 2. Special Meetings

Section 3. Quorum

Section 4. Order of Business Section 5. Parliamentary Authority

Section 6. Voting Section 7. Visitors

## ARTICLE VII. AMENDMENTS

Section 1. Initiation
Section 2. Procedure
Section 3. Action
Section 4. Adoption

## ARTICLE I. NAME AND PURPOSE

The name of this body shall be the Faculty Senate of the University of Louisiana at Lafayette. As the only authorized, representative body of the faculty under the administration of the University of Louisiana Lafayette, this Faculty Senate is constituted to promote and implement, consistent with the purposes of the University, maximum participation of the faculty in university governance. In this capacity, the Faculty Senate will assist the administration in such matters of particular faculty concern as academic standards, student affairs, faculty welfare, selection of university-wide administrators, and membership of specified university committees. The Faculty Senate will advise the administration in the formulation and execution of policy with respect to the broadly defined goals, priorities, and financial needs of the University. The Faculty Senate will also communicate faculty interests to the public and public officials as deemed appropriate in furthering the purpose of the organization.

# **ARTICLE II. MEMBERSHIP**

### Section 1. Faculty Units

For the purposes of the Faculty Senate, the faculty units of the University are taken to be the College of Arts, the B.I. Moody III College of Business Administration, the College of Education, the College of Engineering, the College of Liberal Arts, the Edith Garland Dupre Library, the College of Nursing and Allied Health Professions, and the Ray P. Authement College of Sciences.

#### Section 2. Members

The Faculty Senate shall be constituted as follows:

A. Permanent Members.

- (1) All faculty members with the rank of professor shall be permanent members. Appointment or promotion to the rank of professor confers permanent membership in the Faculty Senate. Permanent members shall be polled prior to the first meeting of each academic year to determine if they wish to be active members (one who states the intention to attend at least one-half of the regularly scheduled Senate meetings) during the year.
- (2) The Dean of the College of General Studies shall be a voting member of the Faculty Senate.

#### **B. Elective Members.**

- (1) Elective members of the Faculty Senate must be associate professors, assistant professors, instructors or adjunct faculty of the general faculty who have completed no less than one academic year at the University at the time of taking office.
- (2) Associate professors shall be elected in the proportion of one member per five associate professors or fraction thereof in each faculty unit of the University. Associate professor Senate members shall be elected for three-year terms and shall take office at the first meeting following election.
- (3) Assistant professors and instructors shall be elected in the proportion of one member per ten assistant professors and instructors or fraction thereof in each faculty unit of the University. Such members shall be elected for two-year terms and shall take office at the first meeting following election.
- (4) One adjunct faculty member shall be elected from each faculty unit of the University to serve a one-year term.

### Section 3. Election of members.

A. Elections shall be held at least two weeks prior to the first Senate meeting of each academic year. In an election to choose elective Senate members, the following persons shall be eligible to vote:

(1) Full-time associate professors, who shall choose representatives of the associate professor rank from the faculty of their respective faculty units.

3 ·

Revised October 23, 2012